4/28/15

Fat chicks in Bikinis: we are here to stay.

*This post is going to be a little more aggressive than you might be used to seeing on my site. If you don't like radical self acceptance and body positivity, then this post isn't for you.*
*Reposted from my other site, www.gabbysbeautyspot.com**

Last week someone reported a photo of my twin for being "nudity" on Facebook. It was a photo of her in a bathing suit that was a bikini top with a lot of fringe and a pair of high waisted shorts. Hardly any skin was showing, it was far more modest that most of my suits. This sparked me to post my own bikini photo, but my photo was different. My bikini shows more skin. It is more of your typical bikini. Here is the photo of myself I shared:

 

This photo was shared twenty times, has almost 100 likes, and has resulted in many friend requests, and private messages thanking me for sharing my photo and my story. It also was reported for being "nudity" by some weenie that can't stand self confidence.

 Below is the caption that accompanied the photo:

 I wanted to share my photo, and my story/opinion. Thin chicks post swimsuit photos ALL THE TIME (I even see photos of ladies in their underwear, and they are kept up on face and go un-reported) and the people of facebook don't seem to care, but as soon as a fat chick starts to have self confidence the world throws a fit.  Don't let people tell you that you need to be thin to have a beach body. All bodies are beach bodies. If you don't like it, tough titty. Grow up. This is MY beach body, this is MY bikini body, this is me, and I REFUSE to be ashamed of my body. You better get used to fat chicks in bikinis, because the times are a-changin' and we are coming out of our shells. We won't bow down to the ridiculous beauty standards that have been set up to hide fat bodies any longer. I'm not here for the "you're not fat, you're beautiful" comments either. To break it to you gently, fat women can also be beautiful. I know, your mind must be blown. Instead of tearing down other people, you might want to take a minute to do some self reflection to understand why you're so unhappy with yourself that you need to make others feel bad too. I have spent too much of my life ashamed and harassed because of my body. In high school, multiple people used to take my photos and photoshop them to say hurtful things and hang them around classrooms. People are always going to have awful things to say, don't let it get to you. "What other people think about me is none of my business".

 Bikini: Forever21+ Top, Bottom. $14.90 a piece.

 xo, Gabby.

4/26/15

Forever Fused Infusion Water Bottle


The Forever Fused has quickly become my new favorite fruit infuser water bottle. The design is so unique compared to similar bottles I have tested. Each fruit infused water bottle is made of high quality Eastman Tritan Copolyester, which is eco-friendly, BPA free, dishwasher safe and leak proof. Every order is backed with a 100% money back guarantee. As a "thank you", those who order will also receive a FREE sports backpack and fitness eBook with purchase!


The forever Fused water bottle has a different design than all of the other fruit infuser water bottles that I have used. The main difference is that the fruit holder screws into the bottom of the bottle, instead of the lid. I love this design, because it makes drinking out of the bottle much easier. In the other designs, the fruit tends to fall towards the mouthpiece, clogging the hole. In those water bottles water takes longer to come out, and you have to sip harder. You do not have that problem with this bottle, as the fruit container is not attached to the lid. You still get the delicious flavor of the fruit, without it clogging any holes. Another bonus for me is that there aren't any dirty mouthpieces to drink from. To drink out of this, you completely remove the top lid. I get so skeeved out by water bottles with straws/tiny drinking holes that i usually end up throwing out such water bottles after only a couple months. I just feel that there is no way to keep them clean. I much prefer drinking out of a bottle like this. I typically use a disposable straw instead of drinking right from the bottle. 


The water bottle itself is made from a sturdy plastic. I have actually dropped it a few times and it still in great shape, there are not dents or scratches. It has been washed over and over again, and the lids still screw on as tightly as they first did. Overall, I am very pleased with this water bottle. 

Flavors to try, with potential health benefits (as taken from the Amazon product page):
✓ Green tea+Mint+Lime: Fat burning, digestion, relieves headaches, congestion and freshens breath.

✓ Strawberry+Kiwi: Immune system protection, blood sugar regulation, cardiovascular health and digestion

✓ Cucumber+Lime+Lemon: Water weight management, appetite control, relieves bloating, hydration, and digestion

✓ Lemon+Lime+Orange: Digestion, immune defense, vitamin C, relieves heartburn, (when consumed at room temperature)

Get yours now, on sale ($19.95)for mothers day! To learn more, or to purchase one for yourself you can visit their amazon page.

I did receive this product for free in exchange for my honest feedback. I will come back and upload photos later this evening when my batteries have charged. 

4/24/15

Diet-To-Go 5 Day Meal Plan.

diettogo logo


Diet-to-Go offers delicious meals that can be delivered directly to your door each week, or picked up if you live near one of their pick-up locations! Diet-to-Go is not just for people who want to lose weight. It is also designed for people like myself who just want to eat a little better. I really enjoyed most of the meals I received.

Diet-to-Go offers a variety of meal plans, there is a little something for everyone. There are three base menus available. The first option is the Traditional menu. The traditional menu meals contain meat and may not be suitable for those who want a low carb diet. For the traditional menu, there are two options: the "men's" (1600 calorie menu) and "women's" the (1200 calorie menu), but since food has no gender and dietary needs are typical the same, I picked my menu based on my caloric needs and not my gender. From here you can break it down further into a 5 day meal plan or a 7 day meal plan. The next two menus available are the low carb and the vegetarian menus. These can both be broken down into 5 day and 7 day meal plans as well, there is no calorie breakdown for these two.

Diet-to-Go sends you everything you need to make a meal complete. I received a 5 day meal plan that contained 5 breakfasts, 5 lunches, and 5 dinners. This includes sides (rolls, yogurt, jelly, hummus...), fruit, snacks, and more. The meals I received are part of the 1600 calorie plan.

Diet-to-Go knows that there are some foods that people just don't like, which is why you are able to customize your meal plans before they ship out. I know I had a couple favorite meals that I would probably have shipped to me every week (here's looking at you french toast sandwich!)!  Being able to customize your menu ensures that you don't get bored of the food you are eating as you can update your menu every week

Here is a photo of everything I received:


The food is shipped out in a large Styrofoam box with dry ice, to ensure that your food stays cold. You can then store the items in your freezer for one month, or let them thaw in your fridge for up to 6 days. I stored mine in the fridge, this made making reheating it go much faster! The black trays that each meal arrives in are both microwave and oven safe, so you can cook your meal either way right in the tray. The only thing that will end up in the sink is your fork!

Diet-to-Go makes preparing meals super simple with easy to follow instructions on each package. I really like these meals because they enable you to eat great tasting food without slaving away at the kitchen all day. With a Diet-to-Go plan there are no dirty dishes you have to clean up! Most everything can be heated up right in the packaging.

I really like that they send you a breakdown of everything they send, with a  recommendation as to what to eat each day. I felt that the foods listed in the menu were paid nicely each day, and I stuck to the meal plan that they had prepared. 


Below are some of my favorite meals, I will not be showcasing every meal I got, as that would make this blog post even longer.

This yummy breakfast burrito was the first meal I tried. It came with a delicious salsa/egg filling and a sausage on the side. 


I don't think I had ever had a Scone before trying this breakfast. This was an oat and rain scone. The apple butter was so delicious!


The vegetable ravioli's were not my favorite, but they were still good. I really loved the Chocolate Mousse that accompanied this meal. 


The Chocolate Zucchini Bread breakfast was delicious. It came with a cranberry orange cream cheese spread that was divine. The orange slices were fresh and juicy.


This was my favorite meal! It was a french toast sandwich with cheese and (I believe) pesto. The sides were orange slices and a brownie. 


This was a yummy seafood soup, it had shrimp, oysters, and I believe clams. I loved the roll with the cream cheese spread.




I really liked waking up knowing that my meals were already prepared for the day. I was able to spend more time getting ready in the morning or take an extra walk in the day with the time I saved. At the end of the day I felt satisfied. I was not left feeling hungry, and I know that I ate much better than I typically do. I did not find myself snacking throughout the day.

Everything you see here was sent to be for free in exchange for my honest feedback. Post contains affiliate links, clicking on them and making a purchase will result in monetary compensation on my end.  Prices for each meal plan vary. To learn more or to purchase a meal plan for yourself please visit the Diet-to-Go website. Use code DTGA119 for 25% off your first order!



*Some of the photos may appear blurry, I have been unable to figure out why. To see a clear version of the photo click on it and let it load*

4/22/15

Sentey® Flow (White/blue) Foldable Headphone


I was a bit skeptical at first. I read all the reviews first for the Sentey Flow Foldable Headphones, and seeing so many low star reviews had me worried. After receiving and using the product, I am kind of shocked to see so many bad reviews. I am loving these headphones. They are far better than any of the headphones I have used for personal use in my home. The bass is deep and the sound is clear and clean.


Packaging: I'm fairly impressed with the packaging. It is sturdy and aesthetically pleasing. The product came in cardboard and plastic packaging. There were no dents or defects to the packaging upon inspecting it when it arrived.


Headphone design: These headphones are very lightweight. I like how sleek the headphones look. Although plastic, to me, they don't feel cheap. The ear cushions are very soft and bouncy. They are large enough to fit comfortably on my ears. I have a smaller head, and these headphones fit like a glove. They can be extended to fit larger heads. My boyfriend also found them to be comfortable. The foldable design makes them more compact and easy to pack in my purse.


Sound: I found the sound to be clear and not muffled. The bass was deep. I did not find the sound to be fuzzy at all. I use these headphones for music, comedy stations on pandora, and podcasts. I found these headphones suitable for each.


Detachable cable: For the life of me I couldn't come up with a reason as to why they would need a debatable cable, then the answer came to me. I have a jerk of a cat who likes to chew on all of my cords. I have had so many headphones ruined by him. Having a detachable cord makes it so you don't have to replace the whole unit, just the cord.


I like that there are no batteries to charge, but I would love to see a bluetooth/wireless alternative in the future. When I am running, i don't like to be tangled up in cords.



For the price you are paying ($14.99), these are a pretty decent pair of headphones. I would buy these for gifts for children who want stylish over-the-ear headphones. I would also bring these on airplanes instead of expensive headphones, as I am always worried about theft. Don't expect them to be like "Beats", and you won't be disappointed. Take into consideration the price point and I think you will be impressed as I was. I actually think that the sound sounds better coming from these headphones rather than the speakers on my macbook.

Features as listed on amazon:
  • Exclusive Headphone Headphones Sleek design: Comes with a modern, sleek design that highlights simple but functional beauty. - headphones - headphone - kids headphones - headphones for kids - kid headphone - kid headphones - headphones for kids
  • Foldable: The Flow headset folds up for easy transport and storage anywhere you want.
  • In-line Microphone: Headset An In-line omnidirectional microphone that picks up your voice without having to talk directly into it.
  • In-line Control: The Flow headset features in-line control to allow you to answer calls by pressing the button when being used on a mobile phone and play/pause a song when used in a device that supports inline control with music / Flat Cable: The flat detachable cable designed to prevent tangles in both use and storage while providing the maximum strength. headphones for kids
  • Compatible and works with any 3.5mm Device and with Turtle Beach TalkBack Cable and Earforce Audio Adapter , Skullcandy Inline Cables, Apple Ipad, Iphone, Air , Mini, Samsung Galaxy s3, s4, s5, s6 , Nokia Phones , Microsoft Surface and Pro, Asus, Lenovo, Msi Notebooks, Panasonic SV-MP010 Digital Audio Player, Sony Walkman , Razer Edge Pro , ProntoTec and Lg G Pad Tablets , Amazon Fire , Dragon Touch Devices , Astro Queo Smartphone , Hp Stream , Acer Iconia , Google Nexus , Dell Venue , Polaroid Tab , Toshiba Encore , Blu Dash , Htc Desire , Nokia Lumia , Ps3 , Ps4 , Ps Vita , Xbox , Xbox One , Sharp Aquos, and many many more broadband compatible devices.
Colors available: 
Blue and White, Red and Black, Purple and White. 

To learn more or to purchase a pair for yourself you can check out their Amazon page.

 I did receive these free in exchange for my honest feedback. All thoughts and opinions expressed are true and my own.

4/20/15

Softy Individually Wrapped Hand Sanitizing Wipes Review

While I wouldn't say I'm a germ freak, I do find myself constantly washing my hands, especially in public. I hate getting any sort of grime or dirt on my hands, and I can't stand when they get sticky. Softy Individually Wrapped Hand Sanitizing Wipes are the perfect solution for someone like me.



I received a package of Softy Individually Wrapped Hand Sanitizing Wipes, for free, in exchange for my honest feedback. I jumped at this opportunity because I know how often I find myself finding a bathroom to wash my hands in when I am out in public. I am always complaining in restaurants when my hands get sticky from whatever I have eaten and it is a pain to go to the bathroom every time I feel uncomfortable because of the mess.

I carry around a huge purse with me everywhere I go. In my purse I keep a small makeup bag for touchups, my camera, and some other essentials. Now, I also keep a handful of these hand sanitizing wipes. I like that they are less bulky and take up less space than a hand sanitizer bottle. They are moist enough to sanitize both hands with. They are alcohol free,  but still leave my skin feeling clean. I would like to see a version made with alcohol for tougher messes.

I like that these do not dry my skin out. Intact, they leave my hands feeling more moisturized, as they are made with Aloe and Vitamin E. There is no harsh odor or scent. They do not leave any residue on my skin.

Each wipe is individually wrapped in a package that is guaranteed to stay moist. The tiny packets are easy to open, but will not tear or rip in you purse. I do keep a handful in my purse, but will be throwing a bunch in my car as well.

Softy Wipes are manufactured in the USA at an EPA registered and FDA approved facility. They come in a 100 ct. box and are each wipe measures 7" x 8". They are the largest sanitizing wipe on the market. The Anti-bacterial formula kills 99.9% of germs in less than 5 seconds. The wipes are made from a soft and thick quilted fabric for a plush, pillowy feel. They are strong enough to hold a 12-kg kettle bell.

To learn more about these wipes or to purchase them for yourself please visit their Amazon page. They are currently on sale for $19.95

I did receive the product mentioned here for free one exchange for my honest feedback. I will come back and upload photos later tonight when my batteries have charged. 

4/15/15

Shielo Leave in Hair Protector




Shielo offers straight forward solutions to many different hair problems using natural vegan ingredients. Shielo is committed to using resources from local farm communities where care is given to protect the environment from planting to harvesting. They also only use HDPE #2 PA free plastics for their containers, that are recycled. All caps and lids are are made of HDPE as well. They are proudly a cruelty free company, they display the cute little bunny icon right on the products!

Shielo offered to send me a bottle of their Leave in Hair Protector in exchange for my honest feedback. I am a huge fan of natural/vegan hair products (currently all of my shampoos, hair repair creams, and split end treatments are from Lush, I really love natural products!) that are cruelty free, so I jumped at the opportunity. The Leave in Hair Proctetor is an antioxidant rich leave in hair spritz that is designed to fortify and protect each strand of hair. It creates a bit of texture along with keeping your hair from frying and frizzing under heat. Their unique blend of pro-vitamins, proteins, and amino acids infuse hair with the stuff they need while providing UV protection. It is safe to use on color treated hair.

I really love how this spray smells. It almost remind me of a less fruity Bahama Mama. It brings me back to Cancun every time I use it. I like to spritz it on while my hair is wet, after I have blowdried it, and when I am all done straightening. It leaves my hair feeling soft and smelling divine. I have terrible split ends, so I use this with my Lush Shine So Bright and my Lush R&B treatments each day. I love how all of these work together to leave my hair soft and protected from sun and straightener damage. I notice that my hair is much less frizzy and much more moisturized when I use this product.


This product can be purchased on the Shielo website for $18.99

Ingredients: 
Water, Hexapeptide-, Shea Butter, Lemon Fruit Extract, Sunflower Seed Extract, Cysteine, Hibiscus Flower Extract, Horsetail Extract, Golden Seal Root Extract, Burdock Root Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Apple Fruit Extract, Sugar Cane Extract, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Lemon Peel Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Sodium PCA, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Mallow Flower Extract, Hydrolyzed Algae Extract, Panthenol, White Tea Leaf Extract, Cactus Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/PVP Crosspolymer, Betaine, Butylene Glycol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cinn amidopropyltrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone PEG-8 Meadow foamate, Hexylene Glycol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polyquaternium-55, PPG-26-Buteth-26, Silicone Quaternium-3, Trideceth-7, Trideceth-2, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance(Parfum)

I received the product mentioned above in exchange for my honest review and feedback. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. 

4/10/15

Dial Miracle Oil Hand Soap

Launced in February of this year, Dial Miracle Oil Hand Soap is the newest soap in the Dial soap lineup. Dial Miracle Oil Hand Soap is a nourishing and skin hydrating soap that will leave your skin feeling better than ever.  Dial Miracle Oil Hand Soap is infused with Marula Oil and uses "Micro Oil technology" to effectively nourish and hydrate skin.


I suffer from extremely dry skin on my hands during late winter/early spring. This is something that has only been happening to me for the last 2 or three years, so I have yet to come up with a solution. I have tried everything from soaps, to lotions, to various types of cream to solve the problem and everything just ends up being a temporary fix. At this point I have just been focusing on products that won't dry my skin out any more. The Miracle Oil Hand Soap does not dry my skin out, but it also makes my hands feel much smoother, more moisturized, and nourished. I don't find myself itching my hands all day long when I use this soap in place of my other soaps.

I really love that this soap does not dry my skin out. There are no harsh irritants or micro scrubbers in this soap, so I don't have to worry about irritating my already irritated skin. When combined with my lotion routine, my skin feels better than with my usual brand of soap, which may be the cause of my skin problems to begin with.


There are a few things I am not totally thrilled with when it comes to this product. Firstly, I noticed right away that there was no little bunny on the product to signify if it is cruelty free or not. I have been unable to find an answer either way about this product online as well. I think it is immigrant for companies to disclose this type of information clearly on every product that they sell. Another aspect I was not trilled with was the scent. I typically buy soaps that have a fruity or floral scent.

Ingredients:
Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamide Mea, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Dicaprylyl Ether, Decyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Oleate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Peg-18 Glyceryl Oleate/cocoate, Polyquaternium-7, Dmdm Hydantoin, Fragrance, Tetrasodium Edta, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Yellow 5, Red 33, Red 4, Blue 1

Overall, I think this is a decent product. It is something I would buy if the price was right. I like how thick the soap is, and how well it lathers. The scent is something I would change, but it doesn't ruin the product for me.

I did receive the product mentioned above for free in exchange for my honest feedback. All opinions and experiences are my own.

4/2/15

Glow Stick Bracelets by Super Bright Glow Sticks

I always get such a sense of nostalgia whenever I see glowsticks. I always seem to want to pick some up at the store when I see them, but they can be so costly for so few. Amazon store Super Bright Glow Sticks sells bulk glowsticks at fair prices. I recently received a set of 100 glow stick bracelets from Super Bright Glow Sticks to review.



I have to admit, my boyfriend and I are still children at heart. We always go see the newest Disney movies, or buy things that might be meant for children. While we don't have any children of our own, we find no shame in enjoying what we like. Glow sticks are one of those things. I think he likes the science-y side of them and I just like how pretty they are.



Amazon seller Super Bright Glow Sticks sent me a box of their 100 Glow Stick Bracelets. After reading the reviews my expectations weren't too high. I had read all these reviews about how dim they were, or how they didn't even light up at all. This was not the experience I had. All of the bracelets I have tried so far have been very bright, they even glowed brightly for more than 12 hours.




I struggled for like 5 minutes trying to put one on, before I realized that I should assemble the thing into a bracelet then slide it over my wrist. I kept trying to connect the sides around my wrist, this did not work for me at all, then again I have trouble putting on regular clasp bracelets. I found that these were a great size for me, while the bracelets are 8 inches each, the connectors might add a few extra millimeters. I have smaller wrists so I think these would be great for children as well.



Description listed from the amazon page:
  • The best quality - Long lasting - Super Bright Glow Sticks
  • Create super bright glowing bracelets, necklaces, glasses and more with the Super Bright Glow Sticks!
  • Includes 100 premium quality glow sticks - 8" long premium quality glow bracelets
  • Fresh from the factory- Ultra bright and long lasting! The longest lasting glow sticks
  • Non-toxic and CPSIA Compliant Glow Sticks - Premium Quality
Overall, I am pleased with these glow sticks. They are sold for $14, and contain 100 in the package. I have not come across any that were broken or did not light up. For more information or to purchase these for yourself check out the Amazon Listing. These will be great for the Glow Nights at the local night club or for partying on the 4th of July.

I did receive this product for free in exchange for an honest review. Experiences and opinions expressed are strictly my own.